Intro to Knooking Part 2

6 Jan

Wait!

Before you run off to buy a set of hooks or mangle the ones you already own, you may have a local option that will let you give Knooking a try.

There is a neat little tool available at Hobby Lobby, and perhaps your local craft store, called a Locker Hook. It is a metal hook, often around crochet hook size G, with the eye of a needle at the end. It is used for a craft called Locker Hooking, which is very similar to latch hooking. In fact, that is where I found my hook, by the latch hook supplies.

Locker Hook

It is has more of a Boye shape than a Bates, and technically the eye of the hook should be smaller than the diameter of the hook itself, but it’s still a good way to get some practice without laying out a lot of cash upfront.

If you can’t find it locally, there are a few online stores that carry it: Hobby Lobby, Create for Less, and Mielke’s Fiber Arts. I am not affiliated with these stores in any way, and always remember to carefully checkout any online sites before you make a purchase. :)

There have been rumors of people modifying their own hooks. I will admit that I am one who has tried, and failed.  It’s probably not that hard, but I just don’t have the necessary talents, skills and tools not to royally screw it up.  I have a whole collection of Lion Brand plastic hooks that belong in a House of Horrors. *lol!*

So now you have your hook and yarn, what do you do? I’ll cover that in another post very soon, along with some project ideas.

Before you go, I do need to mention the wonderful Yahoo group that helped me out when I first found started. It’s called Knitting with CrochetHook, and has a wonderful group of helpful members. It’s a low volume group most of the time, so you don’t have to worry about being overwhelmed with messages. Be sure to read through the archives too, it’s a treasure trove of helpful information.

5 Responses to “Intro to Knooking Part 2”

  1. Loonie April 28, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    Hi !

    People making their own knooking hook is not only a rumor :) I did it this morning, to give it a try ! I used needle files (a round one and a flat one) and a very small drill. I never knooked before, I knitted with regular needles and did normal crochet and tunisian crochet with normal hooks. This technique is wonderful and soo flexible ! So I tried knooking today, and I tried everything that came to my mind, have a look :

    The first row is regular crochet (foundation sc) then it is stockinette with two cables (I never made cables before with normal needles but with the cord it is so easy to bend the fabric and skip stitches and go back to them afterwards), then I tried to make kind of a sock heel, and then I started knooking in the round, and then for the last two rows I it is seamless tunisian crochet in the round (which explains why there are two strands of yarn coming from it :) )
    Thanks sooo much for sharing this technique !
    Crochet rules !

  2. Carolyn Tolo August 13, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Fascinating. Will try to get the hook. Carolyn

  3. Carolyn Tolo August 13, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    I have a knitting pattern for an afghan featuring the USA, and all the states.

    Cast on 272 stitches. How many stitches can a Knook Hook manage? Carolyn

    • Teresa Johnson August 28, 2011 at 1:59 am #

      You should be able to make it. You will just have to use a longer cord on the end of your knook

  4. Rae October 25, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    Thanks for info about the locker hook

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

