Long Tail Cast On

7 Jan

Long Tail Cast On

I’ve tried to learn two-needle knitting several times over the years. With the help of the videos at KnittingHelp.com, I finally managed learned the basics and made a few small projects. But as much as I like the look of knitting, I really didn’t enjoy the process. :(

Even though I now use a hook to make my knit stitches, the videos at KnittingHelp are still a valuable resource. I learned how to do the Long Tail Cast On, by watching Amy’s fabulous video. I strongly suggest you watch it too, as it is better than anything I could do. :)

Obviously, you will be holding a hook instead of a needle. As long as you make sure you have your cable attached to the end of your hook, you should be able to use this cast on quite easily. It’s a great almost-any-project cast on that makes a nice stretchy edge.

Step One

-

Step Two

-

Cast On Finished

-

Slide stitches onto cording

-

Work stitches per pattern (knit shown)

-

Ta-da!

8 Responses to “Long Tail Cast On”

  1. Stra January 8, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    “as much as I like the look of knitting, I really didn’t enjoy the process”

    I don’t enjoy it AT ALL, so I totally understand. I already know how to do that cast on because I can knit in a very basic manner. But since you are using the hook, I thought there might be a new way to cast on as well. So simple !! Thank you for posting !

    • photojenic January 11, 2010 at 11:47 am #

      There may be other ways to cast on than the two I featured. If you find a new one, let me know and you can be a guest blogger. :)

  2. Stra January 11, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    “If” I find a new one lol. But thanks for your offer ! :)

  3. Linda January 14, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    I just wanted to thank you for such awesome tutorials. I am one of these people who learn best by “observing” and you have made learning knooking not only possible but enjoyable. I am very excited about all the new things I am learning thru the tutorials. Thank you so very much!~Linda

  4. Jane Shannon January 25, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    I love your tutorials, they are very helpful – when I read the blog over at ravelry I just couldn’t understand what they were talking about. I think knooking seems just like knitting only you are using a crochet hook. I like knitting though, so to me it seems slower, I can go faster with knitting needles. For folks who don’t like or struggle with knitting – I can see how this might appeal to them. I use a crochet hook in my knitting all the time, for joining, edging and bind off. It will be interesting to see how this takes off.

    • Cynthia September 30, 2010 at 8:55 am #

      Jane, I get where you’re coming from in the slowness of this technique but for me, I crochet very fast. In some cases, I could finish a hat in a couple of hours depending on the complexity of the design. I dunno though. I am not a knitter and never had the urge to try it. Now, I will since I can take what I have now and add a cord. :)

  5. Marny August 8, 2011 at 1:47 am #

    I like that with Knooking the long-tail cast on from regular knitting can be done! I know that one! LOL Yea!!

    The purl of knooking looks strange to me. That, too, shall pass – with practice.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Garter Stitch « Knooking - January 13, 2010

    [...] Long Tail or Crochet Cast On [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

