Garter Stitch

13 Jan

Garter Stitch

If you have read the previous posts, you should have all the skills you need to make the Garter Stitch. It’s probably the most basic knitting stitch pattern ever, but I find it to be quite charming. It doesn’t curl, I like the texture, and it’s pretty fast to make. Ravelry even has it’s own Garter Stitch fan club called FLOGS – For the Love of Garter Stitch.

You can work the Garter stitch over any number of stitches. In a nutshell you cast on, knit every row, and bind off. Ta-da!

Need more help? Be sure to check out these posts:

Long Tail or Crochet Cast On

The Knit Stitch

Bind Off

13 Responses to “Garter Stitch”

  1. Ruthann Piepenburg (mrspi on Ravelry) January 13, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    I stumbled across your blog (already can’t remember how). I’ve always been interested in knitting with a crochet hook. I love it that the knooking method actually *is* knitting…and goes in the right direction too. Are you familiar withe the Denise Interchangeable hook set? I’m wondering if they could be used instead of the hook and cord. Another question: do you have a group on Ravelry?

    • photojenic January 13, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

      I just received my Denise set yesterday but haven’t had a chance to test drive them yet. They can be used for Knooking, so if you have a set you can start Knooking away! I don’t have a group on Ravelry, although I’ve thought about starting one so that we have a central “meeting” place. πŸ™‚

  2. Ruthann Piepenburg (mrspi on Ravelry) January 13, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    If you need *any* help at all you can call on me. I’m extremely interested in knooking.

    It occurred to me, after I posted, that the Denise set has #5 as its smallest hook. I’m interested in knooking socks! How could I get a …erm…knook that is small enough to do socks….or is this even possible?

    • Teri January 13, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

      There is a “fine locker hook” sold on Lacis.com web site. You may have to gently file down the hole end though…it tends to be a bit wider than the shank.

      • Ruthann Piepenburg (mrspi on Ravelry) January 13, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

        Thanks for the info. Already ordered. In the meantime I see a nice sweater from Knitty (Fall, 2009) called “Margot”. It’s in stockinette and garter entirely. I have the yarn in stash. I have queued this project to knook. All remaining to figure out are increases, which should be very like their knitting counterparts, right?

  3. Marie-Christine GOSSE January 14, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    Thank you to add this technique which will be nice to add in any free form crochet/knitting projects.
    I will spray the message to new FFC groups.

    Best wishes
    MChG

  4. MChG January 14, 2010 at 10:58 am #

    Marie-Christine GOSSE :
    Thank you to add this technique which will be nice to add in any free form crochet/knitting projects.
    I will spray the message to new FFC groups.
    Best wishes
    MChG/FibreFantaisie on ravelry

  5. christine January 14, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    MChG :

    Marie-Christine :
    Thank you to add this technique which will be nice to add in any free form crochet/knitting projects.
    I will spray the message to new FFC groups.
    Best wishes
    MChG/FibreFantaisie on ravelry

  6. christine January 14, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    sorry

  7. lenora January 14, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    found you on ravelry. this looks like something I could teach my knit challenged sisters. I can picture colorwork, cables and lace in their futures πŸ™‚

  8. rootmix.blogspot.com January 21, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    wow! MORE crafty options?!?! this looks like something i will love! thanks for the demos!

    rm

  9. Norma January 29, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    Jen, Just in case I have not thanked you on the group, let me do so now. I do have a problem downloading the patterns. Do I have to have a special program to do so? I am totally in love with this technique. My days of trying to knit, hopefully, are long gone…smile….It took me a while to master the stitches and how to remove them, but, well worth the effort. I am excitedly trying to convert my friends…lol…..Great job Jen and please keep up the good work, it is appreciated! Norma

  10. Kriss November 13, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    I’ve modified some hooks (even a aluminum D hook! That took patience) and I’ve been practicing like crazy but increasing has me stumped. Google is of no used because this technique is so new.

    I’ve been purling and knitting in the same stitch and it looks alright. What is everyone else doing?

    Sorry if this question has been covered in another post. I looked through them but I might have missed it in the comments.

Leave a comment